Chocolate Orange Buttermilk Bread with a honey-orange glaze

Chocolate and orange is a fantasmical combination that is, much too often, overlooked. I wanted to do something indulgent for my first post, so I figured, what better than this sinful dessert bread with the perfect sugary glaze?

Now, this isn’t a recipe I had seen before, so I had to do a bit of guesswork. Luckily, the results were pretty good! There are a couple of things I will do differently next time, but let’s take it one step at a time.

I found a recipe for buttermilk chocolate bread on food.com and used it as a base for my recipe. One thing I was concerned about was the fact that I had just used all my sugar a few days ago, but what I did have, was truvia. I’ve never used truvia in baking before, so I looked up some conversions and I am happy to say that I would have never guessed the difference. Another thing I would say is to make sure you have enough of all your ingredients before you get started. I was so close. I was probably only a tablespoon and a half away from enough cocoa powder (I like Nestle). I did happen to have some Hershey’s special dark cocoa in the cupboard though. I filled up my measuring cup the last little bit and dumped it in. Unfortunately, I could tell that that made a difference. But that’s okay!

So, the moment you’ve all been waiting for; the recipe!

THE BREAD
20170314_175606

1 cup sugar [or 1/3 cup plus 1 1/2 Tbsp truvia (that’s 24 packets)]
1/2 cup margarine/softened butter
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk*
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp orange zest
2 Tbsp fresh squeezed orange juice

*If you don’t have buttermilk, you can take one cup of milk and add 1 Tbsp of white vinegar. Let it sit for a few minutes and you’re good to go!20170314_181758

THE GLAZE
20170314_185532
2/3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 Tbsp honey
1 1/2 Tbsp fresh squeezed orange juice.

And don’t forget your tools!
20170314_180813

Great! Now that you’ve got everything, preheat your oven to 350°F (if you are using truvia, you should lower the temperature by 25°F – 50°F).20170314_181236

Let’s get started!

First, cream together your butter and sugar (or truvia). That just means mix ’em up till they’re evenly combined. 
Next, add the eggs and buttermilk to the mix.
Once everything is all mixed up, add in your flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.
Mix again!
Now you can add the orange zest and that fresh squeezed orange juice that made your whole kitchen sticky and your hands turn orange. 20170314_182849

Great! Toothpicks ready! Toss that sucker in the oven for roughly an hour. It really depends on your oven here, so you’ll need those toothpicks to test and see when the inside is done. (If you’re using truvia, you’ll need to bake it a little longer, since you lowered the temperature.)
Just remember, nothing is worse than an overdone chocolate baked good.

While the bread is in the oven, you should probably go ahead and clean up the mess so far.
Don’t forget to make your sacrifice to the sink demon!20170314_182023
Now is also the perfect time to get the glaze together.

In a small bowl, mix your powdered sugar, vanilla, honey, and orange juice. Seriously, that’s it.
I would, however, recommend doubling the glaze recipe. One batch just wasn’t enough to really soak in.

When your cake is ready, take it out of the oven and let it cool in the pan for 15 minutes. If you doubled the glaze, you could go ahead and pour half of it over the cake to soak in while it’s still warm. 🙂20170314_202029
once the cake is cool, pour the rest of the glaze on top and let it set up. (You know, like how donut glaze sets up).20170314_202226

And of course, everything is prettier when you’re about to eat it.20170314_203709

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Hear & Now

SiriusXM Radio Blog

