How I decorated my Irish stout cake

For St. Patrick’s day on Friday, I posted how to make Irish stout cake with white chocolate mint ganache. What I didn’t show you were the tricks I used to decorate it. So, this week, I thought I’d share a couple tips with you so you can decorate your cake like I did.

I told you about carving
sham
and crumb coating,
20170316_200604
so now I’ll tell you the rest!

After your crumb coat, you ice it with the outer layer of ganache that everyone will see.

To make the Celtic knot, I actually went online and found a picture of the one I wanted. Print your picture out (Or trace it onto a sheet of paper like i did) and cut it out. Then place it on the cake where you want it.
20170316_213804

Next, I took an empty salt shaker, and filled it with cocoa powder.
20170316_213826

Use this to sprinkle cocoa over your design.
20170316_214000
If the cocoa is being stubborn and not wanting to come out, just hold the shaker upside-down and tap the bottom.

Once the whole area is covered, lift your stencil away.
20170316_214117

For the tiny shamrocks, I used a petal tip in an icing bag. I just squeezed out the icing for each little leaf and then made a little line for the stem. 20170316_223430

If you look closely, you can see that the coloring was actually starting to separate by this point. I blame this on the fact that I left my icing out of the fridge while my cake was chilling. If it had gone back in the fridge, too, I don’t think it would have separated. But it tasted fine anyway. 🙂

Obviously, you can decorate your cake however you want, but these are the techniques I used. They’re pretty simple and I actually use them a lot.

If you make this cake or use these techniques for decorating, feel free to post your pics below! I would love to see them!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

