Winging It: Cream Cheese Fondant FAIL

The trouble with fondant, is that it usually tastes like butt. My goal was to make a fondant that actually tasted good, so I went to the store and bought the most delicious of icing ingredients: cream cheese.

I had a couple different theories as to how this could work. Today, I will show you the second method I tried. (I haven’t fully given up on the first method).

To begin, I compiled an extensive list of ingredients and got them all together.2 ing

I heated 2 parts sugar with one part water on the stove.20170325_153800In hindsight, the ratio here was probably off. This method may still be possible if you know how much water to add.

…and if you don’t get too impatient and take it off the burner before it reaches the temperature of a taffy mixture. (I think it was 278°F or thereabouts)

I then added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the mixture…20170325_155405It didn’t work.

Ever the optimist, I took the heated mixture and poured it over the cream cheese and whisked it together.20170325_160742
Hmm…

At this point, the icing was still well over 100°F, so I set it in the fridge to chill, thinking that this would allow it to set up and acquire a more fondant-like consistency.

It did not.

But I still had one last trick up my sleeve! 20170326_162153

By adding the powdered sugar, the icing would, no doubt, thicken into a doughy fondant!20170326_162549
Dear God

So, as you can see, my first Winging It recipe was a complete fail. And that’s okay!
I will be tweaking and retrying my initial method to make a simple, yummy cream cheese fondant. Perhaps that will work. 🙂

One thought on “Winging It: Cream Cheese Fondant FAIL

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

